IKEA Company Visit

I have anticipated this visit for a long time, as I have always been a fan of IKEA products. I began to be really interested in the operational style of IKEA after Andre and I did the research on IKEA for the second project.

Unlike the rest of the company visits we had, the trip to IKEA was the most fruitful in my opinion. I feel that the speaker knows in great details of the IKEA journey as she narrated the various significant events throughout the course of history of IKEA and Ingvar Kamprad, the founder of IKEA. This gives us a clear picture of how IKEA has risen to become one of the world’s most recognizable and successful brands.

One of the stories that really got to me was the process in which the self-service pick up station before the counters was formalized. I learnt that it is highly important to be flexible and creative with the solutions when faced by challenges. A lot of times, revolutionary ideas come from the least expected places and hence we should learn from Ingvar Kamprad to be relentless in seeking solutions to the everyday challenges.

– Lee Xinjin

Leave a Reply

